+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: R.O.V build

Default R.O.V build

Hi all i am a newbie to this forum and to subs
    i was hoping to find out if anyone has built an R.C. R.O.V
    i have been given some plans for a basic pvc tube frame rov and wondered if it would be possible to make it RC controlled using a long antenna wire attached to a float
    your thoughts please

no reply's i must be asking a very basic or stupid question

No stupid questions. Since I don't have practical experience I will share what has been stated here and other sites.
    This is not a highly traveled web site but still a good source of information.
    75mhz radios are used for land type applications and will penetrate water to a limit. These are what are widely used but are
    not manufactured as much anymore.
    2.4 ghz will not penetrate the water so would need a antenna above water like you suggested.
    433mHz radios will penetrate water but needs a HAM License.

http://www.subcommittee.com/sub101.html
    http://www.subcommittee.com/rcss-radios.html
    Might have more answers on radios.
    Also go to Forums to ask questions.
    http://subcommittee.com/forum/forum.php
    Last edited by scott t; 09-07-2016 at 12:07 PM.

thanks for the info
    i will be using 2.4ghz as i have a DX6i
    which i use with my air boat and my helicopters
    so i will have to make a long aerial and put a fishing float on it
    thanks again

ps i thought this was the forum i will try the subcommittee .com forum
    Last edited by Paul; 09-07-2016 at 02:13 PM.

thanks

Here is what one person said about the use of 2.4ghz: